Old issue again with Fuel pump replacement/cost

Andrew Shadow

Site Supporter
Bike
2009 ST1300A9
No, I have no experience with it.
What I can tell you is that many aftermarket fuel pumps listed as replacements for the ST1100 output to much pressure and cause a rich running condition. Correct pressure has been reported as needing to be in the 1.5 P.S.I. range. I would suggest that you try to confirm about the pressure that this one will deliver.

Here is a thread about replacing the fuel pump with an aftermarket one and encountering fuel pressure problems as well as the fix for it.
ST1100 - Fuel Pump Replacement

Bike
R1200rt
find a low pressure pump under 5 psi then use the factory pressure regulator from the old pump. you just have to tap and install a fitting on the inlet side.IMG_0485.jpg now you can still use the vent hose.IMG_0482.jpg

OP
OP
Teteague
No, I have no experience with it.
What I can tell you is that many aftermarket fuel pumps listed as replacements for the ST1100 output to much pressure and cause a rich running condition. Correct pressure has been reported as needing to be in the 1.5 P.S.I. range. I would suggest that you try to confirm about the pressure that this one will deliver.

Here is a thread about replacing the fuel pump with an aftermarket one and encountering fuel pressure problems as well as the fix for it.
ST1100 - Fuel Pump Replacement
Thanks for the reply,
That should be the best part of this one, it would actually only replace the factory pump, you would still have the original strainer and the pressure relief valve in place

OP
OP
Teteague
Or buy a Quantum fuel pump and a cheap pressure regulator.
I've got several thousand miles on that set up and it works well.
I have that now, acted like it was starving after a short 90 mph run (1 mile) followed by getting off interstate and it actually stalled, but then did fire back up

Bike
R1200rt