From K&N to OEM air filter

Bike
1994 ST1100
From what I've been reading about K&N air filters (not good things), I'm ready to switch back to OEM. I bought the bike with K&N and I have the feeling that if I switch, I should at least readjust the carbs... Eeh, is that right? Do I need to readjust or re-jet the carbs or just straight swap?
that would be something for Tech. day...?

Bike
2018 NC750X
STOC #
I've been running the K&N filter on my '99 1100 for over five years... haven't experienced any problems with it. Of course, I do not use the outer foam sleeve which seems to restrict the air flow. I feel it is just a matter of personal preference. Changing to the OEM filter should not require a carb re-jet, maybe some minor adjustment if you have been running the outer foam sleeve. Would not hurt to revisit the carb sync after changing to the OEM.
Just my two cents worth... YOMV.

Bike
2019 GL1800
STOC #
I just cleaned, inspected and oiled (lightly) my K&N yesterday. the bugs and trash were all on the dirty side, very clean on the clean side with no oily residue in the air plenum area (where the air goes in the throttle body) I find that a properly maintained K&N with Staintune exhaust gives me better performance and @ 4 miles more to the gallon on average. If you have total bone stock exhaust the K&N might not be an advantage due to the restrictive stock exhaust. If you don't properly maintain a K&N, your efforts are wasted and can be detrimental.

ST1100Y

Site Supporter
Bike
ST1100Y, ST1100R
STOC #
Well, there significant differences between naturally aspirated engines where actual carburettors still processing a mixture, and those with an EFI, where the engine gets teased with only tiny drops, squeezed out a pipette... ;)

Against the strong advise of my mech I'd tried a K&N many years ago...

Installed with the foam ring, as instructed in the manual, the ST wouldn't even idle properly... obvious asphyxiation...