How hard is it to mount the car tire?

Bike
2006 ST1300
I have a Suzuki SX4 that has 205/50-17 tires on it. I decided since I've been mounting my own MC tires for over 10 years now I'd try car tires.

I use a Harbor Freight changer using tire irons. First in trying to break the bead on the Suzuki rim I thought I'd break a weld or pin on the changer before the bead finally broke. Then after mounting it in the changer I couldn't even pry the first bead up over the rim! Car tires are WAY stiffer and thicker than MC tires. This is with normal length MC tire irons. I didn't even try the bar that comes with the HF changer.

I was SO ready to put on the Hankook at my next change but this has totally changed my mind on it. Never mind that I can't do my car tires either. (I was in the process of fabing a static car tire balancer with mixed results but that's another story)

Since others have talked about cutting off car tires and bending their ST rims mounting them I think I'll stick to MC tires.

Gene

That's MR CUPCAKE to you!
STOC #
Cutting off? Bent rims? When did these things happen ????? Sound like the fear rumor mill at work again from those who don't like the cookies. Please post links to these actuall things happening on this board or any other board to a St 1300 so we can seperate fact from opinon

OP
OP
Pete in PA
Bike
2006 ST1300
Bike
'01 ST1100
STOC #
I mount Kumho RF tires on my GW rim using my HF changer. Yes it's harder than a m/c tire, but quite doable. Just take your time and use lots of ruglyde.

Tim in Burien, WA

OP
OP
Pete in PA
Bike
2006 ST1300
I'm NOT looking for a reason, I was ALL ready to mount and use a car tire. Remember I rode on one already and liked it. It's just that after trying to budge that bead and it not moving AT ALL got me thinking. Car rims are thicker than MC rims so they can take more force during the change. Also with one CT here slipping on the rim with 42 lbs in it isn't good either. (Never got an update on THAT problem.)

Bike