Michelin Pilot Roads Review

crazykz

R.I.P. - 2012/06/16
Rest In Peace
Bike
2007 ST1300A
STOC #
Hi All,

Well I know some of you have been waiting to here my review on the Pilot Roads. So I'll put a link to it here and then post the text so there's a copy to keep here. Hope people enjoy the review. I'm no prose writer but it will have to do.

Michelin Pilot Roads Review for the ST1300

I'll post the text in the next couple threads.

Curt

OP
OP
crazykz

crazykz

R.I.P. - 2012/06/16
Rest In Peace
Bike
2007 ST1300A
STOC #
Michelin Pilot Roads Review for the ST1300, Part 1

Michelin Pilot Roads Review for the ST1300
Front: 120/70R-18
Rear: 170/60R-17

Preface

I was offered the opportunity by Motorace to evaluate a set of the Michelin Pilot Roads since Michelin has been reluctant to ship the Pilot Roads, at least the front tire, for the Honda ST1300 into the US due to the lack of sales. This isn't due to the poor performance of the tire but rather the lack of marketing on Michelin's part to advertise these as tires for the ST1300. The ST1300 uses an odd front tire size, 120/70R-18, along with certain years of the Kawasaki Concourse. Now Michelin is caught in a situation where people aren't buying the Pilot Roads for the ST either because people are unaware that the Pilot Roads are designed for the ST or that the tires are only available in limited quantities but that is now starting to change. As I'm writing this there is a shipment on its way from Europe and I'm sure they will go quickly once they arrive, although we are coming up on winter. Motorace has taken the initiative here to allow a couple ST1300 riders to evaluate a set of these tires. They were shipped quickly and arrived within a few days of closing the deal with Dave at Motorace.

Inspection