ST1100 (non ABS) Fork leaking oil

Bike
Honda ST1100 (2001)
Exactly a year since I started riding my 2001 ST1100 (non ABS), my wife and I were on a ride out for the weekend, when suddenly the front end started giving a light "thunk-thunk" sound that was too loud to ignore. Tried wheeling it backward and forward, could not see anything visibly touching anything to cause the sound, and at that speed it sounded more like a brushing than a hitting sound. Was about 40 miles from home when the sound started, so decided to ride home really slowly and hope I got there without mishap.

The sound was periodic with wheel rotation, and got louder and more noticeable (physically) about a couple of miles in. At one point it started sounding like a "whack-whack" sound, and then before I could react it started shaking the handle violently as of something was hitting something physically (but the sound was not metallic). And then... silence. The sound and vibes stopped, and I coasted to a stop a few hundred metres ahead. The only sign that something had gone terribly wrong was oil spurting downward from bottom end of the left fork/left brake calipers (it was hard to tell as both were splattered with fresh oil). I tried walking back to spot anything that might have fallen off, but I didn't spot anything (or maybe I didn't walk far enough). 5 minutes later, oil was still dripping, but at a slower rate. Didn't wait longer as it was getting dark, rode home slowly, not using the front brakes (in case it was brake fluid that was leaking - but the level in the reservoir didn't seem to be going down).

Back home, this is what the left fork looked like:

photo5958771926811915628.jpg

Waited till today morning, so that some of the oil could dry and I could possibly locate the problem better:

photo5958771926811915629.jpg