What is it about MC Wheels and Tires

Bike
2020 BMW K1600GTL
I recently bent my rim on a pothole and called a local place that specializes in rim repair. Everywhere I called, told me to call them. Only problem is, I called them first. They don't do do motorcycle wheels. They list every other type, but as soon as I said motorcycle, they were out.

This has been my experience ever since I started riding. Tire places won't touch them, even just to mount them. I was talking to my car mechanic about what a pain it is getting tires on/off the rims. He does tires, but not MC tires. It's motorcycle shops or DIY.

What is it about MC tires that makes otherwise professional people act like little girls? I've manually changed tires on cars, trailers, lawn equipment and motorcycles. They're all the same. What key difference am I missing?

Obo

Bike
'03 ST1300A
I've run into the same with trying to get MC gear tailored. While they can do it, because it's "safety gear" they won't touch it.

Bike
VFR750F, ST1300
Equipment most tyre shops use can't securely hold MC wheel for tyre-mounting or bending. Usually has some sort of cone that fits into centrebore of wheel. Doesn't work on MC wheels.

1709317013400.png

Or they have some sort of expanding part that grips centrebore of wheel.

1709317185654.png

Last edited:

ST1100Y

Site Supporter
Bike
ST1100Y, ST1100R
STOC #
Equipment most tyre shops use can't securely hold MC wheel for tyre-mounting or bending. Usually has some sort of cone that fits into centrebore of wheel. Doesn't work on MC wheels.
Dinged front and rear on '07 during a Scotland tour (Hardknott Pass for those familiar with the area, p/hole hidden below a poodle in a passing place...), limped home, local shop fixed them fully manually, with plastic blocks and a soft lead-hammer...

Uncle Phil

Site Supporter
In The Holler West Of Nashville, Tennessee
Bike
4 ST1100(s)
2024 Miles
STOC #