1990 Pan (sympathetic) restoration

Hi everyone!

Where’s the best place to start with this one? Probably the beginning….

I’ve been riding bikes for over 25 years, and rebuilding them for maybe 24 years and 11 months… in that time I’ve had everything - small nakeds, big nakeds, Blades, GSXR thou’s, GS’s… you get the idea. At times I’ve been lucky enough to have had a ‘second’ bike alongside my main one - something to fettle. I’ve currently got a pristine Blackbird which, as amazing as it is, needs nothing more than an occasional polish to keep jt looking, well, pristine. Plus, creeping towards (OK, maybe at) middle age means it’s not the comfiest over long distances for me.

So, that nagging itch to get a project started to appear again. Unfortunately my bank balance meant I would have to find a cheap way to scratch it….

There were a few criteria.

1. It had to be cheap
2. It had to need more than a polish
3. It had to be useable once done (so big/comfy)
4. It had to have an interesting engine. No online 4’s!

I’ve had three GS’s, so didn’t fancy a fourth, Triumphs…plastic tanks on the old ones disintegrated I’m told, so, no. I’ve had two VTR firestorms, and they’re available for relatively little money…they go very well and I know my way round one (having rebuilt one years ago)….

“I’ve found you a bike” says my Dad (72 and still looking out for me). “It hits all the criteria! Check out the eBay link I’ve sent you…”

A week later and a 450 mile round trip, I’m the owner of a 1990 ST1100 Pan European with 29k miles on the clock which, having not turned a wheel in 13 years after the previous owner passed away, is in need of some serious love.

IMG_5465.jpeg

IMG_5478.jpeg

IMG_5469.jpeg

You get the idea…. Behind the plastic it’s not much prettier……

anyway, a quick wash later and it she started looking slightly happier…

IMG_5522.jpeg